Service Design Award 2016

Call for entries
Feb 03, 2016
Submission deadline
Jun 06, 2016
Shortlist published
Jul 11, 2016
Awards announced
Oct 18, 2016

Submission of entries is closed


There are three main categories for entering work in the Service Design Award:

  • Commercial

  • Non-profit / public sector

  • Methodology

For the Commercial category, industry sub-categories will be assigned. The jury will create or consolidate categories according to the number of entries. Entries in the Methodology category are for work where the process and tools are demonstrably new or different and more significant than the business result.

As a response to the growing interest in Service Design Award from universities worldwide, we have launched a Student Award this year. Students will receive a reduced entry fee, but only the projects that are created in a collaboration with industry can be accepted. The submission criteria is identical with that of the professional award.


An entry consists of four separate parts, which are described in further detail below:

  1. A submission report with a maximum length of five pages
  2. A single-page summary for media coverage purpose
  3. A poster for exhibition purpose
  4. Five to ten photos or graphics about the project (300 dpi - high resolution, single PDF)

All parts of the entry must be uploaded to the entry system. No physical entries are accepted.

Please visit the Award website to check the detail submission criteria.

General jury